Goals! The most talked about feature of the game, in locker rooms, in alleys of crowded cities, on beaches, on turfs after a weekend morning game! In the year 2009 FIFA decided to open it to public vote public vote which this best goal is. From then on, the Puskás was born, an award to celebrate the best goal in a year, chosen by the fans.

As stated by FIFA.com the criteria for the award is as follows. The goal must be:

  • an aesthetically beautiful goal,
  • awarded without distinction of gender or nationality,
  • Doesn’t necessarily have to have been a championship winning team
  • scored without the result of luck or a mistake
  • In support of Fair Play.  

Sounds about fair, doesn’t it?

Before we go into more about the Puskás here’s this year list of nominees for 2017 and what their goals looked like. (Video below)

  • Kevin-Prince Boateng (Las Palmas)
  • Alejandro Camargo (Universidad de Concepcion)
  • Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela U-17)
  • Moussa Dembele (Celtic)
  • Olivier Giroud (Arsenal)
  • Aviles Hurtado (Tijuana Xolos)
  • Mario Mandzukic (Juventus)
  • Oscarine Masuluke (Baroka FC)
  • Nemanja Matic (Chelsea)
  • Jordi Mboula (FC Barcelona U-19)

Which one is your pick? Mario Mandzukic’s (Juventus) was quite sensational if you ask us!

Moving on..

What ‘about Puskás? Why is it called that?

The award is named after Ferenc Puskás – A Hungarian national who played for Real Madrid in the late 1950’s and 1960 and also was one of the most prolific strikers of European history with 512 goals in 528 matches. He is one of the 20th century’s all-time highest goal scorers. Now that’s the kind of person an award is named after!

The award came into being at the time of the then president (eighth president of FIFA) and currently controversial president Sepp Blatter.

The very first award was won be Cristiano Ronaldo for a goal he scored from his time at Manchester United against FC Porto. Football greats like Neymar and Zlatan Ibrahimovic have added to the list too.

Here’s all the winners and all their goals scored so far:


Player                       Cristiano Ronaldo

Club/Country         Manchester United

Against                    FC Porto

Tournament           Champions League

Player                       Hamit Altintop

Club/Country         Turkey

Against                    Kazakhstan

Tournament           Euro Cup qualifier

Player                      Neymar

Club/Country        Santos

Against                   Flamengo

Tournament          Campeonato Brasileiro Série A


Player                      Miroslav Stoch

Club/Country        Fenerbahce

Against                    Genclerbirligi

Tournament           Süper Lig (Turkey)


Player                       Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Club/Country         Sweden

Against                    England

Tournament           International friendly award


Player                      James Rodriguez

Club/Country        Colombia

Against                   Uruguay

Tournament          World Cup


Player                      Wendell Lira

Club/Country        Goianésia

Against                    Atlético-GO


Player                      Mohd Faiz Subri

Club/Country        Penang

Against                   Pahang

Tournament          Malaysia Super League

PS: Click here to cast your vote